Windy nights in the valley…. John Lennon tree and children growing up!

My son is turning 25 tomorrow – I still feel pretty young even in my mid 40’s as I was young when I had him… a mere 20 years old by some back in the day standards that seems a normal age to bear a child… Now that I have 2 children in their 20’s I feel that it is a very young age to be a parent and I encourage other young couples newlyweds to just enjoy and wait out their life… until their 30’s I say then have children!  I currently have an 8 year old girl also at the age of 45 and I am a much better parent in my 40’s than I’m sure I was in my 20’s…  I love them all the same I’m sure I am a more relaxed parent than before  and simple… The things that are important in life you realize more at an age when you have come so far now and figured life out a bit by trial and error that you want that peace and joy and simplicity that you might not have searched for in your youth…  How do we teach our children about that value of  ‘one day at a time ‘ while we want to protect them from our mistakes and faults…  Now that would rob them of their experiences but what we hope is to save them sorrow… Teaching them just a presence of staying in the moment…. The importance of being present in your relationships, whether your children, spouse, friends or career. To just being there and really feeling life… That to me is of the most important step in this day by day journey still as I learn even yes at 45 of myself..

Take time to listen to the rain fall, the winds blow the chimes on your porch  the children in your life to hear and smile at their laughter… the stories and wisdom of the elders in your family, I’m not saying ‘old folks’ I’m saying the elders of such youth as 45 like me who have some small advice for the experiences of  life that yes you want to protect them from….. at this point I’ve finally caught onto a few things smarter faster and wiser quicker So may I have another 45 years please?! lol!

Blessings, Jenni

Leave a comment